You lead me and keep me from falling, You carry me close to Your heart…

I love those lyrics that Chris Tomlin and Matt Redman added to the traditional hymn “All The Way My Savior Leads Me.”  Just the idea that God carries us close to His heart is one that blows my mind to smithereens.  We are so insignificant in the grand scheme of things, and yet He wishes to protect us as a prize possession.  God loves us, and nothing can separate us from Him or His love.  Those lyrics tie into today’s post in correlation with this evening’s lesson for the youth.  We are coming off the heels of the Crazy Love study by Francis Chan, and I am trying to get the kids to understand that they simply cannot just hear what we talked about and then go about their lives as if it had no impact.  We are to go out and show the crazy love that God has for us to those we interact with everyday, and then we must move out of our respective comfort zones and reach others we do not know.  In James, we are called to be not only hearers of the Word, but doers as well.  I am trying to show the youth practical example of people who have done just that.  Tonight we are going to be talking about the story of TOMS Shoes.  It is a shoe company that gives away a pair of shoes to a kid in need for every pair of shoes that someone buys.  It is a moving and inspiring story.  If you want to read more about the company click here.  I also highly recommend that you buy a pair of shoes as well.  I am just really committed to trying to equip our youth at Westside with the knowledge of ways that they can make an impact in this world for the name of Christ.  It is so important to me that when I leave this place the youth here and those who have already moved on are able to say that I gave them the opportunity to minister.  I simply wish to show them the many avenues of ministry, and let them pray and ask God to show them which one to travel down.  I will let you know how the discussion goes this evening tomorrow.  Have a great evening.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jla6102.wordpress.com/2009/06/24/you-lead-me-and-keep-me-from-falling-you-carry-me-close-to-your-heart/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

