Let the vision of you be the death of me…

Ok, so I understand that two blog posts in one day in unprecedented, but I needed to get something off of my chest.  It is not a bad thing, but I want to share my thoughts with you three people who regularly read my blog.  I was thinking this afternoon about how Christ died for the church, and that we owe our lives and devotion to Him.  This line of thought led me to think of how, in the general sense, Christians have lost sight of that fact.  Churches have become social clubs, and spiritual depth has been cast to the side.  I think that we need to ask ourselves if we truly believe that we serve and worship the omnipotent and omniscient God of the entire universe.  I have to ask the question, do people truly understand what it means to fully give their lives in service to the Lord?  Do we really understand the ramifications of saying that we want to live lives that proclaim Christ and His message to the world?  You cannot make a statement like that and not change your direction completely.  Because if you make that statement, then one must assume that you were not headed in the direction of living a live that makes Christ famous.  You must also understand the consequences of making a decision like that.  If you thought life was hard before you made that decision, then you have it coming to you after that statement is made.  Nothing makes Satan more angry than a lukewarm Christian deciding to be an on fire Christian, and he will do everything in his power to deter you from living for Christ.  It can be observed very easily.  A person who is not living for Christ will find that there are not hardly any spiritual attacks coming his or her way, but, on the other hand, a person striving his or her best will be the victim of attack after attack from Satan and his minions.  I guess what I am trying to say through all of this rambling is that the church needs to do a true gut check.  Are we willing to live the life that Christ has called us to, or are we religating Christian life to pot luck socials and lifeless worship services on Sunday mornings?  I must say as Joshua said, “If it seems evil to you to serve the Lord, choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you dwell.  But as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.” (Joshua 24:15)

Published in: on October 1, 2008 at 6:45 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jla6102.wordpress.com/2008/10/01/let-the-vision-of-you-be-the-death-of-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

