Greater things have yet to come and greater things are still to be done in this city.

I don’t have a great deal to talk about today, but I would like to give you a few thought to mull over.  I picked this song lyric for today because I have been thinking about doing ministry in the city where God has placed me currently for ministry.  I know that God still has big plans for the city of Mableton, GA.  There is no way that we would still be here if God did not have plans.  I know that there is something looming on the horizon that God has planned for the people of Westside Baptist Church to be involved in.  The question is whether or not the people of Westside will be waiting expectantly for the invitation from God.  I am of the belief that the current season of spiritual dryness that Westside has been in for the past couple of years has caused the members to be unmoved by things that are happening around them.  Since I have been here at Westside for the past few months, there have been things going on that encourage me.  God is beginning to move in this community of believers.  My fear and concern is that the people here have become so hardened and apethetic  that they are blinded to the movement of the Lord in our midst.  I think that within the next few months that God is going to amaze the people here with what he can do. 

I also wanted to share an awesome experience that I was able to be a part of earlier this week.  At chapel this past Monday at school, a few of the students from the Korean program led the worship.  The first song that they sang was “Draw Me Close.”  The woman singing sang the song through in English.  Then she repeated the dong in Korean.  We were all singing with her as she led in English, and when she restarted the verse in Korean all of the Korean student joined her singing in Korean.  All of the American students continued on in English.  It was an awesome moment of praise.  I know that so often that I get lost in the fact that we often think of Christianity as being an American religion.  The fact is that it never has been an American religion.  It started in the Middle East and spread out.  Christianity is a global religion, and it is moments like that on Monday afternoon that remind me of the fact that Christianity is not isolated to English-speaking Americans.  On the contrary, Jesus is a force that transcends language and cultural barriers.  He is bigger than anything that we can fathom, and He is more powerful than anything we can do.  Jesus dies for all that they may receive eternal life through Him.

Well this ended up being longer than I thought it would be, but I hope it makes you think.  I hope that you will leave your comments and tell me what you think.

Published in: on September 18, 2008 at 12:21 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jla6102.wordpress.com/2008/09/18/greater-things-have-yet-to-come-and-greater-things-are-still-to-be-done-in-this-city/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I sure do hope that this time of apathy is coming to a close. I feel like there are a few people waiting at the gates for the horse race to begin but we just keep looking at each other because there are so few people to run with us…it just isn’t a true race. Not that I’m saying we can’t run on our own but having people to run with us is such a motivating factor!


Leave a Reply

